Polling Place Accessibility

I hope everyone has enjoyed a wonderful October – National Disability Employment Awareness month. Last year, I was far more attuned to the cause than this month. But life is significantly different for me at this time.

One of the most important facets of American democracy is our right to vote. I consider myself incredibly fortunate to live in a state (Oregon) with vote-by-mail opportunity. Our ballots have arrived – I have voted early. I want to acknowledge the effort and the citizenship of my fellow voters everywhere, and I would like to encourage you to help make it possible for everyone to vote. Offer a disabled neighbor a ride to the polls; help make your polling place accessible; do whatever it takes – and whatever you can – to make a difference.

Here’s a video to watch:

http://www.eac.gov/making_polling_places_accessible/

One thought on “Polling Place Accessibility

  1. Years ago when I lived in TX, I remember times where the polling place moved and there was confusion about where to actually go and vote. Voting at home and using the mail is such a vast improvement. And yes – vote!

Leave a Reply

